News Flash:





In the early 1950's, shortly after the end of the Second World War, Durbanville began to change from a rural 'dorp' to an urban suburb. Farming areas were subdivided and townships such as Kenridge and Valmary Park were developed. These were largely occupied by a young population, many being ex-servicemen. There were very active rugby, cricket and tennis clubs and it was the members of these clubs that formed the nucleus of the future golf club. 

The social life of the village revolved around the two hotels, The Grange Hotel and The Oxford Hotel. The Grange was favoured by the rugby community and The Oxford by the cricket community. The two proprietors, Solly Solomon of The Grange and Sonny Borok of The Oxford, were themselves very active supporters of the Durbanville sports clubs. The Oxford became the birthplace of the early golf days and the unofficial clubhouse. 

The organiser and unofficial Captain of the "Club" was one Bill Stewart (who lived opposite the second fairway on a smallholding) - a popular figure and a very good organiser. He was assisted by two other locals, Monty Spiro of Spiro's Stores - a larger than life character, often seen with two caddies, one with clubs and the other with potent liquid refreshments to sustain himself; and Hugo Olivier, a keen golfer and owner of the farm Dagbreek, and father of the well-known restaurateur Michael Olivier. 

The games were usually played on Sundays and held at a variety of neighbouring clubs, the favourite being the Strand. The competitions were usually held over 27 holes - 18 in the morning and 9 in the afternoon. A sweep was held at lunchtime. The favourites were teetotallers and many "fresh airs" were evident on the first tee after lunch! 

Handicaps were based on your previous competition's score and if you had not competed before, you played off scratch! (An idea now inherited by "The Dreggs".) Our club grew in popularity and by the early 60's with a membership of about 60 with a turnout for the golf days of about 40 players. 


Milestones and highlights

  • Allan Dainton, Malcolm Hand and Noel Vann (all in due time to become successful Club Captains) are nominated to organise future events and pursue the possibility of acquiring the use of an area to lay out an 18 hole course. They co-opt Theo Spiro (of Spiro's Stores), Tom Simms and Geoff Hart-Davies to assist. 
  • The Municipality agrees in principle to lease the area on which the course now stands, once a formal club has been established and a plan of the course layout submitted.
  • Ken Elkin, a local and well-known professional and golf course architect, designs the course and it is approved by the municipality.
  • 6 March 1967 - A public meeting is held to gauge local enthusiasm for the establishment of a golf club. Around 100 residents attend and almost unanimously vote in favour of establishing the Durbanville Golf Club.
  • The Mayor, Gideon Basson, advises those present that the municipality has, in principle, approved the proposed situation of the course and a lease at a nominal rent of "about R2-00 p.a." 30 of those present become Foundation Members in return for a contribution of R 200. 
  • A working committee consisting of GM Basson, CA Algar, N Vann, MT Hand, L Starke, A Dainton, G Hart-Davies, T Spiro, R Ruskin, HE Borok and J Moreau is elected. Two further members, J Marais and Dr P Loubser are later co-opted. 
  • The first meeting is held at the Oxford Hotel on Thursday 16 March 1967. G Basson is elected Chairman, Messrs Algar and Vann are elected as Treasurer and Secretary. Geoff Hart-Davies presents a draft constitution which is discussed and approved subject to some amendments. 
  • 1967 - The dam is completed at a cost of about R4000 with a capacity of 10 million gallons. Both Mr Prinsloo of Aarwater (Pty) Ltd and Mr Starke assist in making this possible by substantially reducing their fees.
  • A lease of 25 years, renewable for a further 15 years, at a rent of R2 p.a. is signed. 
  • 28 March 1968 - The first Annual General Meeting is held and Gideon Basson is re-elected as Club President and Allan Dainton as Club Captain. 
  • 1968 - The first greenkeeper, Mr Rabe, is appointed at a salary of R 30 per week.
  • Over 300 trees are planted, largely by the members and their families.
  • June 1969 - The water reticulation system is commissioned and greens are planted at around R 250 per green.
  • 1969 - The Club badge, incorporating the municipal crest, is approved.
  • December 1969 - The club's architect, Keith Doveton, presents a rough sketch of the proposed clubhouse to be built at a cost of approximately R55 000. 
  • 21 March 1970 - The proposed plans for the clubhouse are presented and approved at a well-attended braai.
  • March 1970 - A new committee is elected at the AGM and Malcolm Hand becomes Captain and Noel Vann Vice-Captain. Gideon Basson remains President and Sonny Borok Vice-President. The President confirms that the basic construction of the course was complete. 
  • Annual Subscriptions for the forthcoming year are fixed at: Ordinary Members: R60; Non-Playing Members: R12.50; Lady Members: R25. 
  • March 1971 - The President, Vice President, Captain and Vice-Captain are re-elected at the AGM.
  • May 1971 - 9 Founder Members take up debentures, raising about R20,000, to ease finances. A building contract is awarded to Mr Canone for the building of the clubhouse to be completed by October.